The day everything changed!

Having already had 3 beautiful children and experiencing birth 3 different ways. I thought that I was a pro and lived in my own ignorant bliss that my 4th little bundle would make an appearance and be just the same as her 2 older brothers and her sister.

20140317-000122.jpg

How wrong was I!

My 4th little bundle is Baby an she is the most amazing little girl ever. I will say since having her I have started finding grey hairs at the ripe old age of 26. I know she probably wasn’t the cause but I know they weren’t there before she was born.

As with all my other pregnancies she didn’t arrive by her due date no matter how much I hoped/coaxed her to get things moving.
So at 12 days over due I faced another induction of labour.
So on the morning of the 4th October 2013 I trundled into Bradford royal infirmary maternity unit and was booked in.
After been hooked up to the machines the hospital realised I was actually in slow labour (something I had known for the last few weeks) and decided to see if my body could do it on it’s own.
My labour did progress but not as fast as the hospital staff liked and my little girls heart rate kept dipping showing signs of distress. They decided to start me on a hormone drip (syntocinon) to get things moving. It was at that point I ordered my epidural! It took an hour for them to get it in the right place after 2 failed attempts but it was finally in an they told me I could lay back. As I moved my leg on to bed, I got the urge to push.
Typical!
The little madam had been causing me pain for weeks and I finally get some relief from it an she decides she wants to arrive. 10 minutes and a few pushes later, at 10.15pm (before my epidural had even kicked in) she entered the world.
That’s when all the fun and surprises started. Because she had been in distress during labour she had opened her bowels and swallowed some of the meconium. After what felt like a life time of silence, she took a few cries and calmed down.

Then they weighed her. I was expecting her to be just like my other kids which were all average to big babies going from 7lbs 10oz – 9lbs at birth. Baby came out a tiny 6lbs 10oz and I had nothing in my hospital bag that didn’t drowned her.

When she was born because of the meconium being present doctors had been called to give her checks and that when they noticed something wasn’t right but decided to leave us a while and come back once I had been sorted an had chance to cuddle my little girl.

20140316-234915.jpg
30 minutes later the doctor came back in and it was like the whole atmosphere in the room changed. It was at that moment I knew something was wrong before the doctor even started to explain.

They told us that they thought Baby had Down syndrome.

The news was a shock I hadn’t expected or even dreamed of and in that moment everything seemed to changed. It was like the world stopped but everything kept going.
I felt like it was my own fault in some ways for not having any tests done but in previous pregnancies I had the blood test that said I was at low risk of having a child with DS and in all honesty I didn’t think it would happen to me.
The doctor explain a blood test would confirm it and I should enjoy my baby.

I should enjoy my baby!

Those words echoed over an over in my head. While I was frozen with fear and my mind raced with questions. How could I enjoy my baby when she had Down syndrome? What was her future going to be like? Would she ever be able to experience being a mother herself or even be able to have a normal life?

I didn’t ask any of these questions to doctor I was too busy trying to process everything that had just happened. Once she had left the midwife tried getting me to nurse Baby. I had always planned to breastfeed, she said sometime children with Down syndrome can have problems feeding but Baby seemed to be doing ok once she latched on. So she left us to bond an process everything. After like 20 minutes of her trying to feed I noticed she was getting sleepy and hard to wake. I moved her so I was cradling her in my arms and that’s when everything changed!

Baby’s lips started turning blue, her skin a grey colour and her breathing went shallow. My husband ran to get a midwife and it became all systems go. My room filled with health care professional and became a blur of oxygen masks and monitors. I just stared at the door in front of me not wanting to see what was happening to my baby and feeling completely helpless as I gripped on to my husband’s hand.

That was the moment my mother instinct kicked in an that’s when Baby having Down syndrome didn’t matter as long as she lived I would love her no matter what.

She was whisked off to neonatal an was put on a ventilator due to her swallowing meconium an it causing Meconium aspiration.

20140317-220053.jpg

Nothing could of prepared me for what happened the day she was born and at the end of it all I was left alone in a room on the ward with everything whizzing around in my head and without my baby that my arms so desperately craved for.
From that moment I willed Baby to fight an hang in there and I made a promise to myself and to her that as long as she fought I wouldn’t give up.
It’s 5 months on and she is still going from strength to strength. We have mastered breastfeeding, smiling, hold our head up and recently rolling over.

20140317-220040.jpg

Proud is an understatement for how I feel about this child because she is amazing.

Nikki ā¤

38 thoughts on “The day everything changed!

  1. Yes.
    Your momma instincts kicked in and the rest is history.
    Except for all the fun stuff to come – and even though your beautiful girl’s life is just beginning, I’m sure you know from your other children, there are many more fun days to come šŸ™‚ Best Wishes, Mardra

  2. What a precious baby the love she will
    Give you will be a Very Special love
    šŸ’–šŸ’—šŸ’–šŸ’—šŸ’–šŸ’—

  3. You’re a strong mother and she’s a beautiful baby! Thanks for sharing your story – I can imagine how painful it must have been to have your newborn baby taken away to the ventilator. #WhatsTheStory

  4. Wow what a moving story and you went through so much in those first moments my heart really goes out for you, So glad to hear she is doing so well! Amazing story xx #mummymonday

  5. What a beautiful blog post šŸ™‚ I can’t imagine what it must feel like to think you may loose your baby when she has just entered the world – so glad the story has a happy ending and your gorgeous girl is doing so well! #mummymonday

  6. What an amazing post and what a gorgeous baby! You should be very proud of yourself as well as your little one, you have both been very strong and deserve all the happiness in the world which I’m sure you’ll get šŸ™‚ xx #mummymonday

  7. Pingback: The weeks that followed. | Keeping strong and moving forward

  8. Pingback: Emotional | Keeping strong and moving forward

  9. Pingback: My Top 10 Blog posts of 2014 | Keeping strong and moving forward

  10. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?

    Great work!

  11. What an amazing and heartfelt post. It is amazing how much can happen in a moment. I am glad your daughter is now okay. She is beautiful and is obvious thriving. No wonder you are proud. Thanks for linking up to #SundaysStars. Hugs Mrs H xxxx

  12. What an amazing and heartfelt post. I can’t imagine how you felt on that day. It is amazing how much of life can change in an instant. I’m glad Baby is doing well now. She is beautiful. No wonder you are proud. Thanks for linking up to #SundaysStars. Hugs Mrs

  13. Pingback: Liebster Award Nomination | Keeping strong and moving forward

  14. Pingback: The weeks that followed. | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  15. Pingback: Breastfeeding and why it was for me. | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  16. Pingback: A lot playing on my mind! | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  17. Pingback: Difficulties in life | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  18. Pingback: My best moments of this year | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  19. Pingback: My special memory | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  20. Pingback: Liebster Award Nomination - Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  21. Pingback: My best moments of this year - Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  22. Pingback: The weeks that followed. | Keeping Strong & Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

