6 months today!

6 months ago today she entered our lives and gave us a massive shock.

20140404-205730.jpg

It’s hard to believe how quickly time has flown by.

20140404-212705.jpg

In the early days all I really remember is my fear. I was scared for her future and about not being sure what it would hold or if she would every be able to do things like an average child. I remember asking the nurses and doctors in neonatal and being told “she should be able to”. That wasn’t good enough for me though because I wanted to be told it

would all be ok!

The first few weeks were a blur and all I wanted was for everything to be ok and for me not to just see Ivy as Down syndrome. It wasn’t that I didn’t love her cause I did, but every time I looked at her at first it’s all I could see. She was beautiful and amazing but all my early memories are blurred with my fear, worry and now regret because at first I wasn’t able to let it go and enjoy my amazing baby.

Slowly as timed passed Ivy started to show me why she was more and why I should love her for everything she had achieved.

Her first smile

20140404-214453.jpg

Holding her head

20140404-214843.jpg

And of course being beautiful

20140404-215022.jpg

I wonder to myself why I was ever scared or what about the situation caused my fear because my child is more then just Down syndrome she is

IVY

and she is going to take on the world and show it what she is made of!

In the last 6 months my life has brought me more joy then I can ever imagine (and quite a few grey hairs too) but I wouldn’t change a single second of it, because without those tears or that fear I would have never of been able to push through and realise that my family are great and I would have continued to take it all for granted an never realise how amazing they all are.

Now the fun begins though because the next 6 months contain all our birthdays (3 of which are in September)

20140404-220409.jpg

The prep and planing begins 🙂

Nikki ❤

5 thoughts on “6 months today!

  1. Beautiful to read! So good to hear that you realised in time that babies come into our lives to be loved and enjoyed and we all spend too much time worrying and then looking back and regretting losing those moments when they should have been spent cuddling or laughing. Ivy is gorgeous x

  2. Pingback: My Top 10 Blog posts of 2014 | Keeping strong and moving forward

Leave a Reply

