Weaning Ivy the fun and games.

Warning contains pooh talk

Even though I have weaned my 3 older kids with Ivy from the start I was nervous about the change and how it would affect her. I had read many parents on facebook Down syndrome support sites asking about what to do because their kids didn’t eat well due to their tongues sticking out or getting in the way. The other main problem I had read about was constipation.

I was reluctant to start weaning because I was honestly scared incase problems started to arise. We had been so lucky so far Ivy had no major health problems (apart from her brief stay in neonatal at the start). Her heart had been scanned and all the holes had closed on there own, her lungs had cleared and her breathing was good, her weight gain was good and she was poohing on a regular basis. She was a happy thriving baby.

I knew that while she was breastfeeding that constipation wouldn’t be a problem due to breast milk having a laxative affect on babies.

Eventually she turned 6 months old and I could put it off no longer I had to put my worries to one side and start weaning her!

20140428-200847.jpg

20140428-200855.jpg

The face says it all!

We started off with the usual baby rice and then moved on the yogurts. We also tried baby porridge. I came up against the usual problems with the tongue but found long, thin ended spoons helped get around that one.

20140428-201825.jpg
And then it was trying to get fluids in to her other then breastmilk. Every time I gave her fluids out of a sippy cup she would spit it out all down herself or her bib.

After the first week of 1 meal a day I thought we had managed to get through without any problem but then what I feared most and had worried about started to happen.

constipation!

She started not going. Some days it would be every 2 days others she would go 5 days and I started to stress! She wasn’t in pain, at first. But I knew the signs because of the rabbit like pellets in her nappies when she finally did go or the redness an pushing she had to do to get the tiny pellets out.

I had a choice to make.

– Did I go to the doctors and see if they could prescribe something to help her go.

Or

– Do I try some natural methods and old wives tails etc.

I decided to go the au natural route first because I wanted to know we tried every option and we would find one that worked best with Ivy. I was also worried that if I started her on medical laxatives so young that she may be on them for life.

So I reach out to the amazing group on Facebook which is full of other parents with children that have Down syndrome and that have gone through the same problems I was going through. I was given loads of helpful hints and tips such as:

– blended prunes in yogurt or cooled boiled water.

– mixing pure orange juice with cooled boiled water.

– cooled boiled water.

– just breastfeed more often.

– massage the belly in circular motion and peddle the legs slowly.

– lots of fresh vegetables and fruit.

I decided it would be best to try removing all stuff like porridge and rice until we had this problem under control.

I will say it all worked and over last few weeks I have managed to have her eating 2 meals a day (breakfast and tea) and going rather regularly (every 2-3 days). I mainly started out giving her just blended fruit or mixing in boiled water if I believe it was too thick for her. Now she is having vegetables on a tea time followed by yogurts or yogurt and blended prunes (which she loves) and has fruit for breakfast.

I have missed a her tea once when she hadn’t gone in 3days and i just breast fed her more often. The next morning she had a lovely surprise in her nappy for me.

I have never been so happy to see pooh or as excited when she goes 2 days in a row!

I was starting to wonder was I normal but today I was talking to a fellow DS mummy and she explained to me she use to be the same with her daughter and it filled me with hope that I wasn’t becoming obsessed.

I still know we have a way to go and I am hoping to have her on 3 meals a day really soon but for now this is working and I want it to stay that way.

We still have to work on the sippy cup problem but one thing at a time and I know now that if things get worse I can always go to the doctors and have medicine prescribe and be happy in the knowledge I tried everything I could first.

nikki ❤

15 thoughts on “Weaning Ivy the fun and games.

  1. My son was diagnosed with hirschsoriung before and hewould not go in 6-7 days (& maybe longer if i wont take action) and we need suppositorries just so he can go. I am happy too when he poos and then I think that I am the only parent who is happy when poo comes. Now he is normal but I still worry if he wont go in 2 days. #magicmoments

  2. It’s funny how once we become parents poo becomes a major source of joy/grief to us! You sound like you’re doing great. I love the look of shock on Ivy’s face in the second picture. #letkidsbekids

  3. Weaning can be a difficult time, especially when you have extra concerns. You did really well managing the constipation without medical intervention ( I think that is always the best way, if possible). It sounds like Ivy is doing really well, the drinking will come in time.
    Thanks for linking #LetKidsBeKids

  4. Oh bless you, weaningiis a stressful time of worry. Buba was ok and caught on quickly but because Missy Moo has reflux I was a bit apprehensive. I think you did the right thing seeking support groups that have been in your position and sounds like you got a lot of really really good advice. Constipation is the worse I was always on the POO look out with MM with reflux since the medicine they gave her made her have it bad. I was told after weaning it would stop but at 10 months it hasn’t. I might even use some of your fab tips Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. Love your blog. Sounds like you are doing an amazing job!!!! #sharewithme

  5. Oh wow Nikki well done with persevering – it’s never easy trying to balance everything especially after breastfeeding. I adore the photos, she’s just adorable. Didn’t she do well too. Thank you so much for sharing with #whatsthestory

  6. awww honey i am pleased to hear you have now got through that rough patch, with little tots its always scary when the goal posts have changed.

    thanks for linking up with #MagicMoments

  7. I can *totally* rate to your delight at seeing poo!!!!! We have inflammatory gut disease here and chronic slow transit constipation. It’s a massive plus when the kids “go” lol!

Leave a Reply

