Toilet training round 2.

Today is the day for E!

20140512-181521.jpg

We are going to giving potty training another go.

I know what your thinking “another go”! Yes, this is the second time we are trying to tackle the potty training. The first time round we started and she was really doing well up until day 4. That day she went to the potty to do a number 2. When she finished, she stood up and saw it. At which point she freaked out and became scared of the potty and the toilet. She would completely refused to go anyway near and get herself really worked up over it.
I did still keep her in undies for a few more days hoping she would move past her fear and use potty because she wouldn’t like wetting herself.

I was half right!


She really didn’t like wetting herself and would become inconsolable for nearly an hour after. She still didn’t use potty though. Whenever I mentioned or tried to coax her to go she would cry and shout “YUCK!”.

I hated seeing my little girl that upset and just decided she clearly wasn’t ready and it wasn’t going to do her any good pushing it. We went back to nappies an waited a little longer.

The potty stayed gathering dust in the living room (it had been cleaned) and then one day she wander over (with her nappy on) and took a seat. I noticed more and more she would do this and even on the odd occasion would state “doing wee wee”. So I contemplated trying again and then she cemented it in stone the last week, when one morning she actually asked me to go to the potty.

She did it again today, so I decided it was time to give it another go. Fingers crossed it works.

So far: potty 3 and accidents 8

But it’s only day 1, so hopefully we can get this thing sorted and it will be 1 less nappy to change in morning. I also really don’t want her to be 3 years old and starting nursery in nappies.

My boys were both potty trained by now and I was always told girls were faster and easier to train. I am hoping this is true because potty training is one of the worst and un fun stages of parenting.

I would actually swap potty training my toddler for a preteen meltdown any day of week!

*Fingers Crossed*

Nikki โค

9 thoughts on “Toilet training round 2.

  1. Potty training is really one of the hardest phases! My son is making good progress now, but my previous attempts at gently introducing him to the concept failed. Like your little girl, he only did it when he was ready. #letkidsbekids

  2. You’re right potty training is the worst. It doesn’t matter that the first attempt failed. It took 2 attempts with my son. Children will be ready in their own time. One of my twins got it straight away, the other was 6 months later. It sounds like she is wanting to do it now, so fingers crossed it works well this time. Good luck.
    Thanks for linking #LetKidsBeKids

  3. Potty training is terrible. We tried when my daughter was 2 but she wasn’t ready, so we started again 6 months later. Then it went much better (she especially liked going shopping for princess underwear!) Stopping by from Mom Blogger Club and following your blog! Stop by http://www.MommyAtoZblog.com if you need a break from the potty training ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot
    faster then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

  5. Fantastic ิeะฌsite yyou have าบere buut
    I waas wating to know if you knsw of anny discussion boards that cover
    the same topั–cs discussed inn this ษ‘rticle? I’d reallky
    love too ฦ„e a part of online community where I ccan get advice from other knowledgeable people tha
    sharะต the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

