The weekend fun

After our week of sickness. I was eager to get out of the house with the kids and have some fun.

On Friday my friend came round with her girls (they were still on half term) and I decided to get the paddling pool out and put it up but found that the hubby had not put it away last year properly and the twist caps plugs that keep it blown up were missing.

oh no!

But with a little in genius thinking (and some Christmas bottle stoppers)

20140609-133649-49009249.jpg
We managed to plug the values and keep the pool inflated. Then started the monstrous task of filling it. I don’t own a hose pipe (might add it to my Christmas list for Santa!) so I had to fill the mop bucket repeatedly and run backwards and forwards. Eventually it was full as much as I could be bothered enough! And the girls could finally get in and have fun.

20140609-134619-49579874.jpg
Unfortunately my cleverness wasn’t a total victory because slowly over time the pool started to deflate. The girls had had enough by that point, so we took the pool down and just sun bathed and ate ice pops until the boys came home and then they play in garden.

On Saturday it was raining but we still had to go out because the boys had swimming lessons in the morning. On the way home we bumped into my friend and her girls on the bus and we went shopping round town and had something to eat.
The boys asked if we could stop off at the library before going home. I really didn’t want to after they had been running around the shops and seriously showing me up by making me have to raise my voice to get them to listen. I decided we could go though, because the weather was poor and I knew they would need something to do once we got home and because I didn’t want to dampen their enthusiasm for books and reading. It is something I have always tried to encourage with my kids.
They started to behave at the library that was when E decided she wanted to make a break for it (it is days like Saturday I wish I had more arms). The boys enjoyed choosing books and T even faced his fear and went to ask the librarian if they had the books he liked. (he was nervous and wanted me too do it but I encouraged him to use his manners and told him I was watching from a distance).
Once we finally got home it was peace.

20140609-140212-50532634.jpgThe boys sat readying their books and I got to enjoy a coffee while E coloured.

Sunday was a lazy day and the weather was lovely to start and I really didn’t want to waste the sun. I decided P, E, Baby and I would go a different park and feed some ducks.
I had read that you shouldn’t feed them bread as it’s not actually go for them. After a quick look on Google and a read later, I found that frozen peas (defrosted of course) and vegetable peeling or chopped up are good. So I sliced up some lettuce and added frozen peas (they defrosted on the walk).

20140609-140926-50966756.jpg
and set off to have an adventure.

About 30 minutes later we made it to the park and the kids wanted to have a play.

20140609-141326-51206418.jpg the heat became too much for Baby though and she fell asleep

20140609-141517-51317658.jpg
on the walk to the park and missed out on the fun.

While they had a run around burning off the pent up energy. I noticed the dark clouds starting to roll in. Threatening to rain on our adventure. We decided it was time to find the ducks and geese and feed them before the rain started. The kids looked so cute walking and running together.

20140609-142143-51703489.jpg

When we got to the little pond, we were disappointed to find all the duck were gone and the water was empty 😦

20140609-144606-53166853.jpg
We fed our mixture to the pigeons in the area and scattered some on grass in case any ducks came later on.
The kids still had fun and it got us out of the house for a while. I am hoping if we go again we can feed to ducks and maybe go buy some proper pellets.

Nikki ❀

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall



12 thoughts on “The weekend fun

  1. Well done for such an ingenious idea to keep the paddling pool inflated, they looked so happy playing together in the garden. What a shame the ducks weren’t there – better luck next time. Thanks for linking up and sharing your family fun and lovely photos with Country Kids.

  2. Oh no, I’m gutted that the ducks weren’t there… I wanted to know if they liked the peas. Genius idea with the paddling pool by the way πŸ™‚ #LetKidsBeKids

    • Will say it was funny seeing santa’s legs sticking out of a paddling pool. I didn’t know either I only knew bread was bad for them. So I looked it up on Google and it said veg peelings, corn and peas

    • It’s just fills them up without giving them nutritional value. So they don’t eat the food they need because there full essentially starving them. I read in in newspaper.

Leave a Reply

