Rules are meant to be broken!

This post is for the linky “The Prompt”

Rules are meant to be broken is basically the way I lived my life before I fell pregnant with my son T at the of 16.

I was a young, silly teenager who thought she knew everything and that I didn’t have to answer to anyone. I got a great shock when reality and life caught up with me.

Although I didn’t actually do anything seriously wrong. I would act out and always do the opposite to what I was told to. I was a complete bitch to my mum (now, being a mum myself makes me think she needs a medal for all she put up with). I would scream, I would shout and I would basically blame her for everything that went wrong in my life (kind of like T has started doing with me now).

KARMA!

I had always been a difficult child. Spoilt some would say but my major rebellious stage started when I was 14. I would lie to my parents telling them I was stopping at friends or going to stay with my older sister but instead would go out drinking regularly with friends that were a lot older then me. I was never one for walking the streets or hanging out in parks getting drunk or causing petty vandalism. I was going out to night clubs, pubs and house parties.
I started listen to new mental and rock music, my wardrobe mainly consisted of black clothing. My pants were baggy with the widest leg I could find and my tops didn’t leave much to the imagination. I would wear chains on my pants, dog collars and had piercing all up my ears. I was the nightmare that most fathers didn’t want their daughters to be.

20140609-205345-75225576.jpg

My parents were never happy about the way I dressed or how I looked but they knew that even it they forbade me from wearing the clothes I wanted I would just do it anyway behind their back. They were all for letting me be who I wanted to be and basically hoped that I would figure it out eventually.
(which I did but it took me a long time and a baby to do it) I lived in my rebellious bubble that I could do what I wanted with out any consequences.

I was very wrong!

As you already know my bubble popped pretty quickly and reality came to slap me in the face.

I was 16 and pregnant!

(before it was a TV show)

At the time I thought my life was over and I had screwed everything up. I was totally and pleasantly surprised that I was wrong (again) because once T finally arrive and I held him in my arms I knew that he was prefect and he was why I need to sort my act out and pull myself together.

I’m not going to lie I did still make mistakes and I was still horrid to my mum but as T grew, so did I.
He taught me to stop being selfish and putting myself first. Because as a mother you can’t do that, the needs of your child should always come before yours.
I aimed to be a better person and a better mother. I wanted to give my son the best life I could.
I tell him regularly that he saved me from heading down a road that probably didn’t have a good ending and he saved me from myself. That having him gave me a reason to be and helped me become the person I wanted to be and that I am today and for that I am very thankful.

He also gave me a chance to realise that even though “rules are meant to be broken” they probably shouldn’t because rules are there for a reason!

Nikki ❀

mumturnedmom
Post Comment Love
12 thoughts on “Rules are meant to be broken!

  1. I was a nightmare as a teenager too – though I guess I managed to get away with it and it took me a whole lot longer to start playing by the rules… It sounds like you handled becoming a mum so young fantastically well. I’m not sure what the 16 year old me would have done in your situation! It’s definitely true though that becoming a mum, though it took me another 16 years, has made me look with horror at how awful I was to mine. I’m dreading karma coming back to bite me when Arthur’s a teenager! X

  2. Wow!! What a brave and honest post! I can see a lot of myself in your post and I also got pregnant at 16 although it was planned as I am still with hubby now, we’ve been together for 17 years. Glad that your son has brought so many positive changes in your life, he is obviously very loved πŸ™‚ #ThePrompt

    • I am not still with T’s dad we split up a year or so after he was born. He is very much loved although he is now heading into the preteen age and think I’m the worst mum ever most of time and karma is just getting revenge for how I treated my mum.

  3. I do look back at my sixteen year old self and also think that my mother deserves a medal for putting up with me! I’m not looking forward to my daughter as a teenager… I think that there are some ‘rules’ that really are there for our benefit, although experience would suggest that most of us don’t learn that until we break them! I guess we have to just use our best judgement, and deal with any consequences as best we can, and it certainly sounds like you’ve done a great job at that. Thanks so much for linking to #ThePrompt x

  4. Awww what an honest post! I am a problem child too. Yelling, lying to my parents esp my mother. Being a mother now myself I finally understand how hard it is for her. But I will also try to understand my son as I also understand what he is going through. Hopefully things will be better for him. Hopefully. #pocolo

  5. I too was pregnant at 16 however my little girl passed away and I became a mummy again at 18, I have always been a bit of a rule breaker and agree that some rules are there for a reason, it’s just we don’t always realse what that reason is until we suffer the consequence. #ThePrompt

  6. I as a nightmare teen too. Looked pretty much identical to your description. We learn things as parents and I think our experiences as teens make us more leanient than we let our children know. X

  7. Pingback: Learning something new everyday. | Keeping strong and moving forward

  8. Pingback: Learning something new everyday. | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

