Beauty

I am joining up with this weeks #theprompt on the subject of beauty.

When ever I think of beauty the first things to pop into my mind is:

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder” – Margaret Wolfe Hungerford

“Beauty is not in the face;
Beauty is a light in the heart” – Khalil Gibran

These are quotes that I use to say to myself regularly. To remind myself that Beauty isn’t always about how you look but about what’s on the inside and that what one person think is ugly another thinks is Beautiful.

Growing up I was always bullied. I was the fat kid or the ugly kid.
Throughout upper school I was constantly teased and ridiculed. Been constantly told I would never find a boyfriend or someone to love because of how ugly I was. It left me feeling alone, unwanted and with seriously low self esteem.
So by the time I was old enough to start dating, I was a walking target that fell for the first boy who told me I was pretty (total disaster). I thought to myself that if he thought I was beautiful that the rest of the world would. (no it didn’t turn out that way)

Luckily from that relationship, I got a piece of true beauty. I got T.

It was after that relationship ended that I finally started to feel right in my own skin. Then when fell pregnant with P and I was a single mum and going through pregnancy all on my own that I finally found my strength within. It was then that people started to comment about how pretty I was looking. It was amazing that once I learnt to love things about myself that it started to show on the outside.
It was then that I finally managed to meet a nice guy that thought I was truly beautiful and loved me for me (lumps, bumps and all)

Then when E was born and I started dreaming about her future, was when I started to remember how cruel young and teenage girls can be. I swore to myself there and then, that I would teach my daughter to grow up not worrying about what was on the outside but that it was on the inside that counts. That you have to love yourself and be a good person in life to be truly beautiful.

When Baby came along that became more important to me. I feared about how people would react when they saw her and if people would always just to see her as a Down’s syndrome baby. I didn’t wanted that I wanted them to see her as the amazing, smart, and beautiful child that she is. Who just happens to have an extra chromosome.
So far I have been so lucky and everyone has accepted her and they see how amazing she is.

What I am trying to get at is that I want my kids and family to grow up knowing that beauty isn’t just what you look like. People can be beautiful or handsome on the outside but ugly and evil at the core. And that they should grow up being the best people they can be and not just worry about how they look and what other people think about them.

Because to me they will always be the best bit of Beauty in my world.

Nikki ❤

mumturnedmom

brilliant blog
Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

10 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. It’s really important to teach our kids that external beauty isn’t the only thing to aspire to, difficult in this day and age though where everyone seems obsessed with their looks! Sorry you’ve had to go through such a rough journey xx #ThePrompt

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you were bullied…me too.
    What you said about your children – “The best bit of beauty in my world” had me crying. You’re so right. x
    Great post! #ThePrompt

  3. Really wonderful post Nikki. You are absolutely right that true beauty comes from within, it’s in actions and words and smiles and laughter, not just how a person looks. It is such an important thing we have to teach our kids, isn’t it? Boys and girls. I’m so sorry you were bullied, but it sounds to me like you have come through it a stronger person – and you will teach you children to look inside first. Thank you so much for linking to #ThePrompt x

  4. Agree. I too was bullied at school because I was the skinny kid who cried all the time. It breaks my heart to think my kids might go through the same thing, which is why it’s so important we reinforce inner beauty.
    Great post. Very raw and honest. X

  5. My heart just went right out to you reading your post. Here we stand as mothers, with our own shaky experience of childhood, bullies, teenagers, self esteem…LONGING for the best for our children. LONGING for our daughters to feel confident in who they are, LONGING for their childhood to be a fantastic experience for them.

    It sounds to me like you’re going to do everything in your power to let your little girl know how beautiful, precious and loved she is… And you can do it! 🙂

    Thanks for linking to #brilliantblogposts

Leave a Reply

