My Best Friend

I am linking up with Emma at outnumbered as part of the #BEDAoutnumbered challenge.

Day 6: My Best Friend

I have a few friends hold close in my heart and I would do anything for (they know who they are) and I love them just as much as each other but when I think of my best friend I think of MAGGI!

20140806-193110-70270455.jpg

She is the person I class as my best friend just because we have been through so much together.

I met Maggi when we were both 16. We use to go out to same the club Rio’s and had loads of friends in common. It was that exact way we met. I had gone back to a friends house for a bit of an after party and a chill and Maggi was dating the guy who flat we were all staying in and straight away we hit it off. We actually spent hours chatting in the kitchen as we cleaned it and then we went walking around the cemetery at stupid o’clock in the morning, talking. (Yes walking round a cemetery at 2am is a weird thing to do but we were young and I rationalised it would help me with my fear of zombies. It didn’t!)

After that we spent the next 4 weeks being completely inseparable. We hung out, we went clubbing or to pub and we shopped. It was ace. It was actually because of Maggi I met T’s dad, when him send his friend almost knocked us over coming down a hill full speed of a bike an rollerblades. Maggi actually fancied T’s dad and I liked his friend. We got chatting to them and spent hours talking in the centre of town. After a bit of time I realised I fancied T’s dad (we were only 16!) and he liked me. Maggi wasn’t bothered though because she is an amazing person who I think is beautiful. (she doesn’t see it in herself but I do)

20140806-203501-74101513.jpg

When I started going out with T’s dad Maggi and I lost touch and I didn’t see Maggi for over 2 years. By that point and I had just become a single teenage mum and I wasn’t handling the break up of T’s dad and I, very well. I hated being alone in my house and I was going out partying when ever my mum would watch T for me. (was a very low point in my life). Anyway I bumped back into to Maggi at a party and we got talking when T was at my mums. I had friends come back to mine and Maggi came too. We spent the whole night chatting again it was like no time had passed at all. She mentioned that she also didn’t like staying alone in her flat, as her flat mate was at her boyfriends for next week. So I invited her to come stay with me because I had a spare room and it stopped us both being alone. It was meant to be a week but it actually turned into 2 years because Maggi ended up moving in. I couldn’t of been happier! (same thing happened with my hubby!)
It was then I started calling her my wifey and all our friends started referring to us as Maggi and Nikki. We were hardly ever separate.

20140806-200019-72019980.jpg

The next 2 years were great. We would chat and giggle all time, spending at least one night a week curled up on my sofas watching girly flicks eating our own individual tubs of Ben and Jerry’s, doing face packs and painting our nails. It was great and if a guy ever asked me out Maggi would baby sit, so I could go out on a date and would be there to help pick up the pieces if it all went pear shaped.

Maggi helped me get through a really hard time in my life by just being there to listen to me when I needed her.

Then one day Maggi found her dad on Facebook and wanted to get to know him. Problem was he lived in Scotland. She went up to visit him and realised she loved it there and was going to move to be close to him. I was devastated but I knew it was the right thing for her to do. Plus by that point I was pregnant with P and we knew I would need the my spare room for T and P would go in T’s old little room. She promised she would keep in touch and we both promised to visit and she stuck to her word. At least twice a year she would come down to visit and we still got up to all the crazy stuff we did before.

20140806-200020-72020867.jpg

We use to talk almost every night because she worked nights on a hotel desk and I always had problems sleeping on a night.
Over time she met her partner and settled down to have 2 beautiful children and I met my hubby. Maggi still came to visit but it wasn’t as often because we both had families and I even went up to Scotland to see her.
The funniest thing is that when my hubby was thinking of asking me to marry him. He asked Maggi for advice on rings and when I got married she was my maid of honor.

20140806-202245-73365740.jpg

She came down for my hen do and the wedding it was great. A few months after the wedding. When I was heavily pregnant with baby. Hubby, E and I went to Scotland to see Maggi and her family again. That was the last time we saw each other and it was well over a year ago :(. We still talk often on phone or FaceTime but a lot of time we forget or the kids need or want something and our conversations are cut short.
But it doesn’t matter because she know if she needs me I am always there for her just like I do for her. If I need to talk she will listen and I do same for her. She knows pretty much everything about (probably more then my own husband does!)
She has seen me and talked me through many bad time and has alwaysbeen there to give me a healthy dose of reality when I need it. She always tells me if I look hideous and isn’t afraid to tell me what she truly thinks. She expects the same from me too which is great because I get to be me without worrying about upsetting or offending her. She knows if I ever say anything she doesn’t like or agree with, she knows it wasn’t meant in that way and we talk about it.
I’m not saying we never have arguments because we have (specially when we lived together because we “synced up”) but once we both had it out of our systems we would chat and everything was forgotten. We only ever really argued when we were highly emotional and very stressed.

Maggi has played a massive part in my life and always will. Even thought don’t see or talk to her every day. She is never far from my mind or my heart.

That is why I class Maggi had my best friend x

20140806-212700-77220386.jpg

Nikki ❤

9 thoughts on “My Best Friend

  1. Sounds like you have a great friend there. I often wish my close friends lived nearer too but it is lovely when you can get together and just pick up right where you left off.

  2. So wonderful, what a great friendship you have, I seem to have lots of besties, can’t pick between them but feel lucky that right now the people in my life are the best of eggs, the real friends! Kids help me hone in on the good guys don’t they! Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

  3. It is so amazing to have such a great friend in your life. Looks like she is a keeper for life. Love the bond you two have and all the fun photos together. You really have experienced alot together. That is so amazing. What a lovely post. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. I hope to see you again this week for another great round. #sharewithme

  4. Pingback: Difficulties in life | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  5. Pingback: Difficulties in life | Keeping Strong & Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

