Boredom

My word this week has been BOREDOM

We haven’t really done much this week with the kids and have to basically stayed at home due to the bad weather and because the kids didn’t want to go out.
On e days I had activities planned we would get washed out. Like when we were going to watch cloudy with a chance of meatballs on the big screen in the city centre or to the park or even shopping. The heavens would decide to open and our plans would have to change.

Add to that the fact that my hubby has been working nights most of the week. So he has slept (when the kids will allow it or be quite enough for him to sleep) most of the day. Him working nights has also meant me being alone and sleeping alone all night.

I did try and arrange a day out to a museum that is just a bus ride away but when I asked the kids what they wanted to do. They just wanted to stay in and play board games. I was happy to let them because it gave my bank balance a break after doing the school uniform shop on Saturday. Plus it means that when me hubby is off this weekend we can hopefully have some fun as a family.

All this alone time and being stuck in the house has led to the mid summer holiday lull. Where the kids are bored and they have the phrase “I’m bored” on repeat. The thing is I can completely understand why there bored because so am I.

I am hoping this weekend we can have some fun and adventures as a family. But if our plans fall through, get rained out or changed it’s ok because I have more trips planned in the coming weeks and at least now I know I have the uniform shop done.

Nikki ❤

word of the week

The Reading Residence
Binky Linky
20 thoughts on “Boredom

  1. My eldest ts nursery this september so i imagine from next year we will have the ‘im bored’ moans! At the moment they’re still content with playing with toys all day so there isn’t that pressure at the moment – it certainly gets harder as they get older! #binkylinky

  2. It’s so hard when they’re bored isn’t it, but sometimes they say their bored, you suggest doing something and they say no – what you gonna do?! We do lots of crafts when it’s raining. We made dragons today! Thanks for linking up to the #binkylinky

  3. I’m lucky because at 2, Potato is still pretty easy to entertain. When the weather is bad, we build train tracks, back, paint or do sticking. He’s always happy to have books read to him and he’s beginning to get into the idea of imaginative play too now. I know full well though, that it won’t be long before it becomes a challenge to keep him entertained. Have you thought of making a Bored Jar? Hopefully the weather will improve soon and they can make the most of the rest if their hols xx
    Thanks for linking up with #BinkyLinky

  4. This weather is grim isn’t it? But this week I have made a concerted effort to do things, and you know what, it’s been worth it. We’ve had (dare I say it) fun in the rain – yes we’ve been covered in mud, I’ve had to do two food shops this week as we’ve had the boys friends in, and yes I’m knackered… Chin up, and fingers crossed for some sunshine!!! #WotW

    • So far we haven’t stopped this weekend. After I wrote this post we went out that day and everyday since. I’m shattered but the kids are happy plus I have only heard the words “I’m bored” once. Luckily! Next week is pretty much the same, we are busy busy busy all week.

  5. Pingback: Awesome | Keeping strong and moving forward

Leave a Reply

