Highlights of childhood

I am writing this post to take part in The Prompt that the lovely Sara @mumturnedmom does every week.

This weeks prompt is a good one and a quote

“The highlight of my childhood was making my brother laugh so hard that food came out of his nose.” – Garrison Keillor

once I found out about this prompt I got really excited because I loved my childhood, I love watching my children enjoy their childhood and it got me thinking about all the amazing stuff a great childhood is made.

The long hot summer days
As we learn to find are way.

The fun and adventure of hide an seek in the park
But we must be home before it gets dark.

A life full of laughter, love and praise
These are the thing on which we are raised.

Hardly any worries or tears
Even with are silly fears.

We call for are mothers,
Or our fathers, sisters, brothers.

They are our heros that keep us safe
The monsters, away they chase.

The smallest thing we hold dear
They become so precious we always want them near.

It’s an amazing time of magic, of wonder and of play
My memories of childhood I carry with me to this day.

Nikki ❤

The Prompt

mumturnedmom

brilliant blog
Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

14 thoughts on “Highlights of childhood

  1. Ah sweet poem about childhood. I have a feeling that you probably remember your childhood a lot clearer than I remember mine 😉 But I do know that I was happy and it’s the greatest gift that any parent can give their children I reckon. X #ThePrompt

  2. Ah, such lovely moments from childhood, beautiful poem – a great way to capture them. I’m glad you have such good memories and that you are helping your children have the same x Thanks for linking to #ThePrompt x

  3. What a gorgeous post and so lovely to share your childhood memories. I have so many growing up in picturesque Ilkley of climbing trees, making rose petal perfume, playing with my brother in the little local park and simply ‘being’! Gorgeous! Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

  4. “and amazing time of magic, wonder and play” Lovely. I think if we can all give that sort of childhood to our kids then the world will be a better place. #theprompt

  5. Pingback: My 5 favourite posts | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

  6. Pingback: My 5 favourite posts - Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

