5 ways to know your ready for the kids to go back to school.

If your a mum to many school aged kids, like me. You will be slightly gutted that August is nearly over and summer is coming to an end but completely elated that it means the school days begin again 🙂

Don’t get me wrong I love my kids completely. But after 6 weeks of almost constant arguments, hissy fits and endless “but why mum?” I am totally ready for their school to open it’s gates and for normality to return to my home.

IMG_5141.JPG
So here is my list of 5 ways to know your ready for your kids to go back to school:

1. Exhaustion has set in.
At the beginning of the holidays I remember dreaming of my morning lie in with giddiness that was school to my kids. All because I didn’t need to set an alarm and would wake up when the kids did.
But like many parents, by day 2 and my second 6am start. I realised that it was a foolish day dream that was never going to happen and all those mornings my kids complained and moaning about being woken up at 7am were just a torment. Because now they have chance to sleep in and their up earlier. WTF !

2. Your back account is no longer has pounds but pence!
After school shopping, food bills and days out filled with kids wanting more! Your bank account has seen better days and is nearly, completely void of funds and is in serious need of reviving.

3. Your laundry pile never ends.
It doesn’t matter how many loads you put on or clothes you wash and put away. During the night it’s multiplies and this endless pile of washing has somehow turned into a mountain that even the most experienced and bravest of climber wouldn’t tackle. And it’s all for you 🙂

4. You begin to channel your parents.
After weeks of bickering, nattering, fighting and “he did”, “she did”. You have done something you swore you would never do and become your parents. You will find yourself uttering a phrases you swore you would never say, when you were a stroppy teenager. But it will come out before you have chance to stop yourself and then you will realise you have become your mum!

5. The countdown!
If your anything like me you will have been counting down the weeks/days recently. I more then most this time because we had our holiday early and I got the school shop over with as quickly as I could. I didn’t want to have to face the crowds or wrestle a mum for the last pair of pumps that were size 11. So the last few weeks have had us mainly stuck indoors due to crap weather and low funds (refer to no.2). So I have been counting the days down until normality returns and my day consist of cleaning, play groups and coffee mornings with friends 🙂
And your ready to do the back to school dance 🙂

So don’t worry if your a tired, frazzled mum like me. Who is counting down the days until her little angels are at school because then she can finally clean her house, resort order to her life and tackle her mountains of washing that have built up over the holidays.
I am with you and I understand. I will be doing the MUM DANCE on Tuesday 🙂

IMG_5140.JPG

What about you?

Nikki ❤

Leave a Reply

