Praise

This week my word has been Praise.

The reason this is my word this week is because I have been making a serious effort in ignoring any naughty or answering back my kids have been doing and really trying to focus on praising their good behaviour.

This is tactic we employ a lot of the time but when we were nearing the end of the summer holidays. This practise got a little lost in the boredom and constant brickering that was going on between my unruly hooligan demon lovely children. So finding the good behaviour to focus on became difficult due to the daily arguments, back chat and fighting that was going on in my once happy house.

IMG_1288.JPG
But most of last week was filled with people helping me find the positives again. With a few people telling me how polite and kind, my mischievous little munchkins can be.

So this week I made a point to pick out every positive and praise my kids because they deserve it.

T has had a great week in school and has had hardly any melt downs recently. Today he even did the washing up after breakfast with no complaints 🙂 I will say it’s mainly because he is working towards me letting him ride his bike to school on his own :-s. He goes 10 next week and mum walking him to school is so “uncool” apparently.

P has been his usual nattering self but has been so sweet and kind. Telling me he loves me and how much of a great mum I am :). He has also been trying to help out with tidying round the house by moving dirty cups from room and cleaning up after him self. His little face beams with pride everytime I tell him what a great job he is doing.

E loves being told she is a good girl and is really starting to finish he toilet training. She has been dry at night for last 2 nights and makes sure she goes to loo before bed. She is so sweet to Baby an is always singing if she cries or playing with her nicely. When out at play group she normally shares without a problem and loves playing with other kids. She was always a shy on even when she was 4 months old she only ever wanted me. Now she is turning 3 I can see the change as she is really coming out of her shell. It’s beautiful to see.

Baby has been a star recently and is learning new things everyday. She babbles constantly saying ” mama mama”, “dada”, “mmmmmm”, “baba” and loads more. She is a real chatter box :). Her newest achievement is that she is finally sitting up :).

IMG_5281.JPG

This week I have had so much love and praise to give my kids. Whether it’s going great on homework, chores, kindness or learning something new. They have made me proud and happy to be their mum.

Nikki ❤

word of the week

The Reading Residence
2 thoughts on “Praise

  1. This is a lovely word and post. It can be easy to focus on the little niggles, but flipping it round you do see so much to praise and be proud of. Sounds like your kids are doing very well with it, too 🙂 Thanks for sharing with #WotW

Leave a Reply

