Breastfeeding a 1 year old and I’m not going to stop!

Dear people passing comment in how I feed my child!

I firstly want to say how “happy” I am that you decided to express yourself and tell me your opinions and thoughts in me breastfeeding my child!

I would now like to express how I feel about some of the comments that you made and I would like to put you straight.

Yes I have a 1 year old
Yes I am still breastfeeding
and no I don’t have any plans to stop!

I know to some people breastfeeding can be a taboo subject (“it’s too sexual”) and a few really don’t agree with it in public (“put it away, it’s disgusting!”).
I’m sorry but if my child is hungry or thirsty and they want breastmilk, I’m not going to hide away in the toilets or let her suffer to appease you.
Just like you can’t leave me to happily care for my child with out making your unhelpful comment.

I will point out that breastfeeding is one of the most natural things in the world and it is actually recommended for you to breastfeed your child until they are 2.

So when you decide to ask me “Are you planning on stopping soon?” Or “Don’t you think she is getting a bit old to breastfeed?”
My answer is simply

NO!

See my daughter is only 1 year old and our breastfeeding journey started out as a rocky one.

From the night she was born, I had many health professionals telling me “she might not breastfeed” because she had Down’s syndrome and due to her stay in neonatal, she was tube feed for the first few weeks. Meaning I had to express every drop of milk just so I could feed her. This was before I even got to hold her.
Once I was able to try and feed her. I was jumped at the chance but again it was full negative people telling me “it might not happen”.
I came close to giving up because I just wanted my baby off the NG tube and feeding for herself, because then she could come home.

Luckily after 3 weeks we made a break through when she started to take a bottle of my expressed milk. I knew once she was home I would get her breastfeeding from the comfort of my home, without negativity or professionals breathing down my neck. It took a while, a lot of tears and stress that pushed to the point of giving up. But we got there and at just over 5 weeks old I got my baby fully breastfeeding.

Because of the struggles we went through and because she is my last baby. I am not going to give up this opportunity to make my daughter happy and give her what she needs. Just to make someone I don’t know more comfortable.

Yes I will be discreet. In public I may cover myself with a shrug or blanket. That isn’t because I’m ashamed or for your comfort but mine. (can’t be getting frozen nips now can we)

So next time you want to make a passing comment about how someone else cares for their child. Please walk pass me and actually say it to some one who wants to hear it. I’m busy listening to the happy murmurs of my feeding child πŸ™‚

Yours sincerely

IMG_1361-0.JPG

The woman breastfeeding her 1 year old.

Nikki ❀

Binky Linky

#PoCoLo

Post Comment Love
51 thoughts on “Breastfeeding a 1 year old and I’m not going to stop!

  1. Well said Nikki and good for you! Love your last comment about listening to the happy murmurs of your feeding child – what a beautiful way to express it. I wish some people didn’t find ‘extended’ breastfeeding such a repugnant concept. I’m starting to get comments now about when I’m intending to stop breastfeeding Sophie as she approaches her first birthday and the answer is ‘when we’re both good and ready to stop’

  2. well said. I know my daughter fed Bob till he was nearly 2 and only stopped when he dropped it himself. the twins are 11 months and have never had a bottle its been breast since day 1 and she will keep going again till they choose to stop, and they seem to be in no hurry. I think people feel it is (slightly more) acceptable to be feeding a baby and more people so object as they get bigger and can “feed themselves solids so why do they need a breast?”

    • This is the longest I have even breastfed for. With my other children it was 2 month, 4.5months and 10.5months but I don’t want to give up yet. I love having the bond and closeness with my baby

  3. Well that little girl is very lucky to have such a caring mum and i hate people saying you cant even when you havent really tried. Keep going nikki.

  4. As a parent, you have the right to decide what your kid does, no-one else. If you want to continue breastfeeding, then go for it. The missus has been breastfeeding exclusively for nearly 10 weeks and plans to continue for as long as she can.

  5. Ah, so happy for you that you got the breastfeeding to work! There’s absolutely no reason to give it up if you’re happy doing it, and no reason for anyone else to pass comment. Ignorant people, worth ignoring πŸ™‚ x

  6. I don’t hear much negativity about it anymore – I didn’t think people cared were so bothered about what the mothers decision was! I didn’t breast feed either of my children but still have 2 fab kids and I wouldn’t even bat an eye if someone said something to me about not feeding them, so you do the right thing by just doing as you wish, it’s your life x Ax

    • As long as the kids are happy, cared for and fed who cares if it’s from a bottle, a breast or even through a tube. We are just looking after our children and making them as awesome as we can :). Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

  7. Good for you! I’m feeding my 8 month old daughter and I certainly don’t hold back, I’ll feed her anywhere and everywhere! Luckily I haven’t had any negative comments. Your story made me teary. From a mama who understands a rocky start to breastfeeding x

    • I’m glad you managed to find your way through a rocky start like me. I have BF all my 4 children and never received anything negative comments until recently and I just thought I would take that negativity an turn it into something great πŸ™‚

  8. Great post! good on you, breast feed for as long as YOU want to. My little girl is 7 months old today and people have started asking ‘how much longer are you going to breastfeed her?’ … until I know it’s the time to stop, both me and her will know, plus she’s allergic to dairy so I’m being dairy free to feed her and I’m pretty proud I’ve managed to give up chocolate and after a bumpy start, get this far! people need to keep their opinons to themselves.

    I blog at http://www.mummymemories.com if you ever fancy taking a look x

    • Its true you and your little one will know when you need to stop. Some babies even self wean. Im just enjoying it for as long as I can. I may decide to stop in next few months I may carry on for another year. The option is up to me and i agree people need to keep their opinions to themselves. Thanks for reading and i will take a look πŸ™‚

  9. As her Mum you have the total right to decide what is best for your childs emotional and physical wellbeing (I was told that this week!) and as far as I am concerned this is exactly what you are doing. Don’t listen to those who say otherwise. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo πŸ™‚ x

  10. You’re doing just what’s right for you and your daughter. My mother couldn’t breastfeed either my sister or me and if I had a child I wouldn’t be able to breastfeed them either due to medications I take. That being said, breastfeeding is a mother’s right and, even though I personally don’t find it a cute sight (I’m just not that tuned in to children), I don’t see a reason to consider it offensive. By the way, you have a great blog and I’m going to put it into my feed reader so I can follow you. I’m particularly interested in learning about your journey with your daughter as I myself have disabilities.

  11. Well said. There’s nothing wrong with feeding your child at the age of 1 – I’m just surprised you’ve had so many comments. Best of luck with it. Sounds like you’re really tuned into your baby.

  12. What a fight you had to get started! I’m so proud of you for standing your ground and putting your daughter’s needs and comforts above the sneers of nosy biddies! There is no time limit on good nutrition, and nursing is the most natural way for a baby to eat. My daughter just turned three, we still nurse in the mornings and when she wakes at night. She would nurse all day, but I’ve had to set limits because she becomes obsessive and we’ll get to where that is all that soothes her. She is autistic, and nursing has been one of her biggest comforts in a world that often brings great anxiety. But she also has to learn other coping skills, so starting at about two and a half, we gradually reduced daytime feedings. I don’t know when we’ll stop altogether, but I will know when the time is right.As will you. Congratulations. Well done!

  13. Amazing post! I love this attitude! I am breastfeeding my daughter who is ten months and my plans have changed (my original goal was 6 months) and I now want to carry on for as long as she wants to. I think it’s a real shame that people feel the need to judge and comment in a negative way about breastfeeding. I am lucky in that I haven’t had any negative comments, but I have had a lot of disgusted stares, and it’s wrong!!
    Amazing!

  14. Pingback: My Top 10 Blog posts of 2014 | Keeping strong and moving forward

  15. I stopped breastfeeding my daughter at 11 months – mainly because I was only feeding her during the night and I felt it was pure habit that she was waking up for a bit of a comfort feed. I thought stopping would help her sleep through. It didn’t. I wish I’d just carried on to be honest, it would have been easier and cheaper!
    You do as you please lass! x

  16. The WHO recommend a MINIMUM of 2 years. I breastfed until my boys self weaned (which happened to be 4 years old). Most stop by 7 – and that’s what I told people haha. Good for you.

Leave a Reply

