Dog On Stilts – Book Review

Books have always been a major passion of mine. (when I have the time to read)
I love nothing more then getting lost in a good book. So reading is something I really try to get my children into.
We take regular trip to library and I try to buy at least 1 new book at birthdays and Christmas.

That’s why when I saw the opportunity to review a new book. I jumped at the chance. I was even more thrilled to find out my family and I had been given the chance to read Dog On Stilts by James Thorp & Angus Mackinnon aka The Superhairies.

IMG_4461.JPG
They also wrote The Weasel Puffin Unicorn Baboon Pig Lobster Race.

Within a few days I received a beautifully cloth bound, hardback book that was full of amazing pictures and colours. I was surprised because the style and colours in the book aren’t what you except to see in a children’s book. But I think there all part of what makes this book so great.

IMG_1389.JPGIt’s a different style and take on a familiar sentiment.

“Our true friends love us just the way we are”

The story is about Medium Dog, who thinks that he is too ordinary to fit in with all the other dogs, because they were all far more interesting then him.
So he comes up with a plan to help himself stand. By making himself stilts, so he stood taller then them all. Until he came down to the world with a bump and realised he was interesting enough for his friends to love.

IMG_1391.JPG The way they got this message across was great. T and P engaged with the book straight away and knew what the meaning in the story was. E loved all the illustrations and the way the book had to be turned to the portrait angle to follow along with the story. They all loved the way the story flowed and rhymed. Even Baby gave a giggled and clapped along, specially to the Dog On Stilts – The Musical.

This book is a great idea for a Christmas present for the children any family because it is fun, colourful and puts across the great message to be yourself and people will love you. It can be found in most book store for the price of £10.99. It is published by Digital leaf.

We all really enjoyed this book and were so happy to be given the chance to read it and review it. I personally look forward to any future books this pair come up with.

Nikki ❤

Disclaimer…

I was not paid for this review, however I was given the book to keep in exchange for my honest opinion of the book.

The Giggles Family
Family Fever
13 thoughts on “Dog On Stilts – Book Review

Leave a Reply

