My Christmas – so far

As this is my first Christmas blogging I thought I would walk you through our family Christmas before the big day.

School Ends – Christmas prep starts
See normally during the half term I would have loads of crafting activities. We would make decorations, bake and right cards. Plus the kids would fill in their Christmas activity books and we would write letters to Santa and post them.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6531.jpg
This year though, we had a very late start to the Christmas prep as 2 of my kids got poorly during the weekend after they broke up. Luckily they got well enough to join in last few days.

See Santa
I know to lots of people this is a right of passage too and they take their kids every year. I am on of those people and although they have seen many other Santa’s in the last month. I always take them to see the santa in local shopping centre every year.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6132.jpg

Wrapping presents
This is actually one of the things I really don’t like about Christmas. I hate having to spend hours wrapping the presents, just do the kids can rip off the paper in seconds and it thrown in the bin. It’s a massive waste of money, time, effort and paper. But then though I hate it I still wrap nearly all their presents every year because it’s not Christmas with out wrapping paper.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6070.jpg

Christmas shopping
I an the one that does the food shop every year without fail. I always go major over budget and end up with things I don’t need, want or know what to do with.
For the food shop I always start buying a month before Christmas. I buy my mini sausages and sausage meat as soon as possible and store it in my freezer until Christmas Eve. I start storing up on the booze, nibbles and “kid wine” (grape juice) and in recent years I have started. Preordering my main meat, starters and pudding, so it’s paid for and ready to pick up Christmas Eve with no fuss 🙂

Christmas clean up
In the week running up to Christmas, I try to do a major clean before my family come round (not that it looks any different) and on Christmas Eve, the cleaning steps up a gear as the prep begins. As the kids play the hubby and I will been seen darting about trying to get stuff polished, wiped or swept. Although soon as kids come down on Christmas morning it’s a bomb site again!

Christmas Eve night
Christmas Eve night has to be one of my favourite time though. I love how excited the kids get. We spend the day making decorations, watching Christmas films and spending time together.
This year we also went to see Santa. As we could go earlier due to ill children.
After tea we will all get in our pj’s curl up to read The night before Christmas, then put 2 mince pies, a carrot and a big glass of baileys out for Santa before bed.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6532.jpg
Then soon as the kids are a sleep in bed the hubby and I get to work with sorting the presents, building them and finished what is left to wrap (if any!). Then we set them all up as if santa had been 🙂

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6533.jpg
Then it’s a quick clean up and off to bed we go 🙂

I can’t wait to see the kids faces in the morning when they see all their presents we have bought them and I hope they like the shoes Santa has got for them.

MERRY CHRISTMAS ALL
I hope you a great day and I will fill you in on the rest of our Christmas later on x

Nikki x


 photo 93142f35-6d39-479f-b3de-d94dbca68162_zps58499252.jpg

8 thoughts on “My Christmas – so far

  1. I feel tired just reading this but what a great idea about the meat and the shopping. Unfortunately my stocking up started early for non perishables but I did dive into many of the crisps well before December oops 😉
    I also hate wrapping but still do it too.
    Thanks for linking up to #TinselTuesdays 🙂

  2. Hello there, I found your site by means of Google whilst looking for a similar matter, your site got here up, it seems great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is
    really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you happen to continue this in future.
    Numerous people will probably be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

