Christmas

Our word this week is of course the same as most people’s.

IT’S CHRISTMAS!

This is technically my 2nd Christmas post, as I did one on Christmas Eve detailing what we usually get up during the Christmas holiday and what we did this year πŸ™‚

Christmas is always a great time and I look forwards to it most of the year. Although it’s not my favourite holiday (that’s πŸŽƒHalloweenπŸ‘»). I do still love and enjoy taking part in all the fun things to do and sharing the day with my family.
Christmas Day is the only day I know 100% that my hubby has off work each the year because his work close for the day. I love this because I know he will always be here with us as a family.

You see growing up I didn’t often have that. My mum and dad both had jobs where if they had to work Christmas Day they couldn’t really get out it. Which always seemed to take some of the sparkle or magic away for me. All I ever wanted was a day with my family without someone having to dash off to work.
They still work in similar jobs and that’s why this year we had to have an earlier Christmas dinner because both were working Christmas night.
My sisters and I take it in turns to host Christmas dinner with for my parents and this year it was my turn πŸ™‚
Them working doesn’t bother me as much now as it did as a kids because we work around their routines, so they can enjoy the Christmas fun which is great.

This year like every other my mum (and normally my dad) came round to see the kids open their presents.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6595.jpg before they head off to work. On the days that their working it normally involves a 6am start to day, so they can get to work on time.
After the presents were open and my mum had left for work. It was still really early. The sun hadn’t even risen yet, but my kids were wide awake and full of beans. All wanting to play and open their new toys. Hubby and I sorted through the toys fixing them together, adding batteries or switching them on, before we snuck off to make breakfast and clean up.

My hubby did most of the work with breakfast while I started prepping dinner and sorting out the table.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6553.jpg
He then put on his mistletoe head band and Christmas jumper, while getting fully into the Christmas spirit.

A little while later once the table was set and the 3 meats (lamb, beef and Turkey) roasted in the oven with the veg, stuffing and pigs in blankets. I finished setting the table and had managed to get dressed.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6556.jpg

Soon enough the family had all arrived. This year I had my kids, my parents and my inlaws round for Christmas dinner. The table was set, the kids were all dressed and dinner was ready to be served.
(Unfortunately this is when the hectic ness set in and I didn’t manage to snap any nice pictures)
Dinner was beautiful though and I give myself a massive pay on the back. It was my first time doing a rack of lamb and to add the fact it was stuffed too. I was amazed I managed to get the cooking times all right.
At dinner the drinks began to flow and the rest of the night was spent talking, laughing and enjoying each other’s company.
I didn’t manage to snap this cute picture on baby and myself though πŸ™‚

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2014/12/img_6558.jpg

How was your Christmas? Did you have fun?

Nikki x

word of the week

The Reading Residence


13 thoughts on “Christmas

  1. Ah, lovely photos and I’m glad you managed some family time and to have a great Christmas there. I didn’t get any shots over dinner either, though at least you have that gorgeous one, such a cute outfit, too! Thank you for taking time out to share with #WotW

  2. It looks and sounds like you had a wonderful day, I didn’t manage to get many pictures this year…instead I wanted to be part of the fun too. Thank you for linking up to Magic Moments and hope you had a wonderful New Year.

  3. Pingback: My Christmas – so far | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

