NEW

This week has been about everything New.

Clearly after the major Christmas present haul my kids had been given, meant that my house was full of new fandangled toys that made loads of noise or had loads of bits that come off and go missing. (Not so much fun with a baby crawling around)
So most of this week has been trying to find new places for all these new toys to live (Also not easy when the toy boxes are over flowing). But being me I found away and most of the toys have new homes now.

Also this week I have seen a new side to E. My little girl who is normally so sweet and kind has all of a sudden hit the terrible 3’s! (She was too shy and quite at 2 to really be naughty or throw tantrums)
So we have had her refusing to sleep, eat or even take her medicine at night (she has kidney reflux, you can read about it here and here).
She has started scream when she doesn’t get her way, hitting her siblings, telling us NO! And today she kicked Baby’s leg because she didn’t get her way.
This was quickly followed by me picking her up and placing her in reflection corner for a time out.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_4762.jpg
It’s really strange because this isn’t her normal behaviour. She is normally so sweet, kind and helpful. But since she had started nursery we have slowly seen a change in her. Some were good, like her confidence had increased and she was talking to people more instead of hiding or clinging to my leg, she played with children more and participated instead of running off and playing in the corner, alone. Now thought the negatives are creeping in and if you add to them the fact she has my stubbornness, it’s not a very good mixture.
I see a lot of time outs in the future if she doesn’t learn quickly that her bad behaviour isn’t acceptable.

There have been some good new news this week too, because this week Baby has finally got her first tooth! I can not tell you how excited I was to find this out on New Year’s Eve. I have been waiting ages for this tooth to finally cut threw. Unfortunately it has meant I have had a clingy, whiney little miss stuck to me because it hurts and she is upset.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_4935.jpg
As we all know it’s is also a new year, so I have come up with the usual resolutions. Like losing weight, spending more time with family and trying not to get as stressed out.
But I have also decided that I am going to work on a new me, making new friends, getting a new look for my blog or going self hosted and trying new things. I started by trying a new tea.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_4824.jpg
I know I have to work on putting myself out there more and gaining more confidence, when it comes to talking to new people and brands (hopefully).
For the rest of the week the hubby and I are going to be discussing and coming up with a plan for changing the kids bedrooms round. So we can finally move Baby out of our room and in with her sisters.

So there you go that is what is New with us. How are you all?

Nikki x

word of the week

The Reading Residence
Binky Linky
8 thoughts on “NEW

  1. Good word! Sorry to hear E’s been playing up, I do hope that improves soon. And yay to baby’s tooth! Your own plans sound exciting, too, look forward to reading about your progress šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing with #WotW x

  2. It’s so interesting for me to read about how your toddler is building up her own personality. I guess she needs to now she’s not the baby. I like the way you handled her bad behaviour. Keep it up.

  3. So many things going on in your household! Hope the tantrums will not last long! I have the same dilemma with the toys as the storage is already full of them and the living room is looking like a toy store already. I don’t know where to put them so tips would be appreciated =P #binkylinky

    • My main tip is to get rid of any old or broken toys. Give the ones he no longer plays with to charity and throw away any broken ones. My husband calls me the Tetris Queen because of the way I make things fit together to optimise the space.

Leave a Reply

