Trying to get out with the kids.

Over the Christmas half term holidays, I always plan for lots of indoor activities and (weather permitting) out door fun too.
But instead my family and I tend to become hermits, staying indoors watching films, playing games or doing arts and crafts.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_6317.jpg
This year though I didn’t want to be stuck indoors. I wanted to be out having fun, playing in the snow (before it melted) and getting some fresh air.
This didn’t really happen the first week of the holidays, though. Mainly because I was busy dashing off to do shopping, wrapping presents or recleaning my house for the 50th time, when the kids destroyed it.

This week though I have really made a real effort. I wanted to make sure that I got myself and the kids out of the house. (We were all going rather stir crazy)

It wasn’t planned and was just a last minute, spur of the moment. I decided to take my all kids to the park and let them run off their excess steam. (They were climbing the walls and I was really close to having a breakdown!)

So we just gathered ourself together and went off to the park, with a football. It was starting to lightly rain and the dark clouds were rolling in. I didn’t actually think we would make to park before we would turn back. Fortunately the rain held off and we made it to the park. (Even if it was bloody freezing) the ground was still covered in the last little bits is frozen snow and ice.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_6747.jpg
When we entered the park the kid ran off in every direction. The older kids went of in a sulk and find a make shift goal. (I wouldn’t let them go to the football field on their own because I couldn’t see them from the park. T didn’t like that because he “is old enough now!” Apprently)
I ignored his little moans of protest and went to go push Baby on the swings while E played on slide before joining us.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_6748.jpg
P and A gave up on the idea of football and decided instead to smash up the snow/ice, that was scattered the grass or the playground and the play on the big basket swing. This annoying T who was still in a sulk over not being able to play football on the field and he was verging on having a full meltdown. When I threatened to take us all home. He eventually came round quickly when I came up with the idea of a relay race around the park. (A few laps was sure to burn all that sulkiness out of him)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_6749.jpg He was thrilled when I got my phone out to start timing them all. They had a few races against each other and then T wanted me to time him by himself. A, was going to have a go too but changed her mind after 1 lap. E tried to keep up with the elder 2 (I didn’t time her though) and P just wanted to play.

So with cheers from me the kids ran and I timed their laps. At first T was going to do 4 but after his 2nd he said he could only do 1 more. He was very pleased with the result.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9ee/65683610/files/2015/01/img_6750.png
Once all the kids were done I decided it was time to go. I got a chorus of “Awwwww’s” when I told the kids but the street lights had started coming on and it was getting to cold for Baby to be staying out. So we went home.

The kids still had great fun and even though they didn’t play football and nothing was planned we still managed to eventually enjoy ourselves, get fresh air and burn off some stream.

Nikki x

country kids
Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

11 thoughts on “Trying to get out with the kids.

  1. It’s great that you managed to get your outdoor time eventually. It’s a shame that T was a bit grumpy because he couldn’t play football but it’s great that you managed to distract the grump and had a good time running around the park getting all the pent up energy out. Thanks for linking up with Country Kids.

  2. It’s great and healthy to get out and about, even if it’s just for half an hour a day! Although I don’t have kids, I try to get out every single day by taking the dog for a walk or just walking to the shops!xx

  3. I find the best times are the unplanned ones- look like you definitely made the most of the excess energy! #CountryKids

Leave a Reply

