10 phrases I swore I would never say to my kids…..but do!

2015/01/img_7488.jpg
As a child I was, what can only be described as a “demon child”. I was one of those spoilt little brats that would scream the store down and throw all out hissy fits in very public places. My mum would try to be strong and would try to ignore or calm me down, but I was a very strong willed and stubborn child. (Must be because I’m a Taurus!)

That being the case I always remember certain phrases my mum would say to me that would make matters even worse or that annoyed me and made me scream loud.

When I became a mother I swore I wasn’t going to ever say such phrases, I was going to understand my child, our life would be great and I would be one of those easy going, cool mums that had a amazing untreatable bond with their child that was built out of respect. (You can stop laughing now)
Yes I was a kidding myself. I was living in a dream world and I didn’t know what being a real mum entailed. In my defence though, I was only a 16 when I fell pregnant with T.

And even though I swore blind I would never say these phrases to my kids. As they grow older I hear myself saying them and I’m slowly turning into my parents!

So here you go the 10 phrases I swore I wouldn’t say to my kids (but actually do!):

1) “Because I said so!”

2) “You make a better door then a window.”

3) “Just give me a 1 second.” (I say this a lot)

4) “If I had said that when I was a kid I would have got a ……….!”

5) “Thats life!”

6) “Tough!”

7) “Your too young to understand, your just a kid.”

8) “Money doesn’t grow on trees.”

9) “When you move out I’m going to come and jump all over your sofas and see how you like it”

And the last but not least

10) “When you have kids I hope they give you just as much grief as your giving me.”

Do you ever say any of these? Is there anything you swore you were never going to say to your kids? Do you find yourself saying it anyway?

Nikki x

brilliant blog
Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

share with me

#PoCoLo

Post Comment Love
Binky Linky
The List
62 thoughts on “10 phrases I swore I would never say to my kids…..but do!

  1. Oh yes!! I do say the one about Money doesn’t grow on trees and every time my kids don’t finish a meal – i remind them of the starving children of Africa!!

  2. Lol there’s a few on this list I’ve said. I’ve definitely come out with a few things my parents have said including “don’t answer me back” which I remember completely mystifying me as a child – if my mum didn’t want an answer why did she ask a question? And now I shall be confusing my own children by saying the same thing!

  3. Lol these are good, I always say ‘wait a minute!!!’ and then they say ‘it’s been one minute now!’ and I’m like ‘wait a few minutes then for god sake!!!” grrrr lol

  4. I’ve got a list of things ‘I’m never going to say’ but I’m sure in a few months I’ll b e saying them all too! Osian’s turning into a little monkey recently so can imagine myself turning into my mother xx

  5. I had a lot of things I thought I’d never say or do, but… Adam’s being really cheeky recently, I think his Terrible Two’s started waaaaay too early lol! i believe I’ll soon be saying all these things you do, no matter how many times I promise myself not to.

  6. Argggh! I am so guilty of a lot of these! It frightens me how similar some of the phrases I come out sound like my parents. If I realise, I usually give myself a strong talking to! ‘In an minute” and “2 secs” I say all the time…. my daughter usually repeats them back to me which keeps me in check. #PoCoLo

  7. I think I’ve said all of these at one time or another. Sometimes I open my mouth and my mother jumps out! I’d like to think the fact we recognise it means we have a chance to stop it becoming a regular thing though!
    Thanks for linking up with #WeekendBlogHop!

  8. I dont remember much of my mum as a child she wasn’t around much but there are definitely phrases I use I never thought I would. Because I said so is a favourite in our house in fact even the kids say it sometimes!

  9. Oh yes, we all turn into our Mums eventually! Sometimes when talking to my 18 year old I hear my mothers words coming out of my mouth and at the same time remember being 18 and thinking ‘ugh whatever mum!’

  10. Hello there, ooooh this has brought back some memories and made me realise I say ‘just wait a moment’ about a million times a day! I can’t believe I actually told my son his face would get stuck like that if the wind changed…I used to hear that all the time! Really enjoyed this and it’s made me smile! x #sharewithme

  11. Oh we are all guilty of this becoming our mothers or fathers and repeating those phrases we refused we would ever say but they come out of our mouths and I wonder why we are shocked to find we are our parents all over again. lol Love this list. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me and I hope to see you again tomorrow for another great round. #sharewithme

  12. I often say things and realise I sound like my mum, it’s funny how that happens isn’t it! Although there are a few words that I don’t allow which I used to have in my house growing up and I do tend to stick to that. X

  13. Yes, this is so true, LOL! I use some of these, others are very similar, and I swore I would never say them to my children. I will not be like my mother, and now I’m totally channeling her, LMAO!

  14. Oh gosh I am always coming out with some of these especially the “wait a second’ one, which is normally 5 or 10 minutes. A lot of the things I say are things my Mum would have said, which have a lot of Irish-isms in them. Things I also swore blind I would NEVER say. Oh the joys of being a Mother xxx

  15. I recognise some of those and try my best not to use them. The phrase my kids hate the most is ‘I’ll think about it’ they always say ‘why don’t you just say no and get it over with’

Leave a Reply

