Outdoor park fun

This weekend I have wanted so badly to go on a day out with the kids. This urge was made even greater by the fact that all weekend it has been lovely and sunny. (It was still freezing though)

Unfortunately I have still been feeling really run down and plain awful, add that to my lingering ear infection that is still bugging me and now Baby and E developing a lovely dry cough. So you can see why we didn’t really make it out.
Even with all that I was still desperate to get out of the house. I knew once I went for a walk or just got some fresh air I would feel better. I would blow way the cobwebs and soak up some vitamin D (even if it was only my face on show).

On Saturday I ended up cancelling my plans to go to a frozen fun day because I just could face the crowds of people with the kids on my own, while I felt this horrid. On Sunday I was planning to go for a walk down woods with the kids. That way we could all have some fun and explore. But with Baby and E’s chest I decided against that too.

Instead we went for a walk and then to the park. As soon as I stepped out of the door, I was hit by that bitingly cold breeze and I could feel myself waking up, an the fogginess in my head slowly blowing away.
The kids were happy to be running about and having fun, even though E was coughing all the way.

IMG_6015(here’s P pretending the tree is his “uber hair doo!”)

We soon got to park and found that a piece of the equipment that had been broken for over a year had finally been replaced and fixed.

IMG_6017
It an amazing seesaw that spins round as well as bounces up and down. It great for little kids …

IMG_6031
And big!

IMG_6022

I was itching to have ago but I decided to wait until I was feeling better and because a line of excited kids was forming, they were waiting to take their turn on the new seesaw.

Instead the kids went off and played on other equipment and I went to go push Baby on the swings.

IMG_6066
She really does love the swings and so does E.

IMG_6047
All the kids had great fun and Baby even had a go on the slide with E and T

IMG_6051

IMG_6055

IMG_6062
Unfortunately the cold was creeping in more as the winter sun began to fade, E’s cough was getting worse and Baby was getting fussy and wanted to go home. So I called the kids to tell them we have to leave. The kids all groaned out loud and wanted to stay and play but poor Baby was ever so upset and just wanted to go home to for her nap.

We soon walked home after “one more go on the roundabout.”

I was glad we had managed to get out of the house and I felt much better for getting some fresh air, even if we were all much colder. I know the kids had great fun and would have played for hours and if had been summer I would have let them.

As I told the kids now the weather is turning brighter we will go back again soon or maybe even try a new park or too.

Nikki x

magic moments

What’s the story

 photo 93142f35-6d39-479f-b3de-d94dbca68162_zps58499252.jpg

let kids be kids


country kids
Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

12 thoughts on “Outdoor park fun

  1. Yay for a blast of fresh air, no need to stay out hours when you are not feeling your best but just 20 minutes or so will make all the difference and help lift the fog. Well done for doing it and the photos show the children appreciated the effort too. Thank you for sharing on Country Kids

  2. I hope everyone is feeling better. I think getting out in the fresh air, even if it’s cold definitely makes you feel better and what a great park that looks. I love the look of that new seesaw!
    Thanks for sharing #LetKidsBeKids

Leave a Reply

