February Half Term

For most of us the last week has been half term.

While I do love normally love school holiday, I completely despise them over winter. The weather is crap, the kids don’t want to play out cause it’s cold and quite frankly I can’t blame them. I know most winter days I would much rather curl up in my pj’s in the warm.

For us our half term has been spent going on days out or playing at home in tents and doing arts and crafts when the weather was bad.

IMG_1786
You see instead of telling you about our half term in 1 post, I planned to tell you about all the stuff we got up over multiple posts. I was going to tell you about the day I met up with my sister and we took the large brood of kids to the Media Museum in Bradford. It was a fun day but because they had a Shaun the Sheep exhibit on the place was completely packed and we didn’t really get chance to enjoy it or do everything they had to going on. It was completely manic and with 2 pram and 9 kids you can imagine how much fun was to be had. We did manage some but I wasn’t able to get many photos. The kids loved it though, especially E.

By the time Saturday had rolled around I realised the kids hadn’t really played out. Of course we had been out and about to museums, play areas etc but they hadn’t gone outside to play except for a bout 5 minutes, when they ran through water fountain in
City Park on the way home from the Media Museum.

Because of this I was really happy when one of my mummy friends messaged to ask if I wanted to join her and kids for a walk to park and then down to local farms to see the animals.

IMG_1779

The kids loved the park and I enjoyed watching them all play nicely. T really impressed me by being so grown up and helping the younger ones on the slide or pushing them on swings. It was amazing to see how grown up he was becoming.

We only stayed in the park for a short time because we wanted to go see the animals, plus I wanted to go an take some photos of the wild flowers and views for my #BWphotoproject and #MySundayPhoto. There really are some beautiful sights to see where I live and I got some great shots.

IMG_1781

IMG_1783 although I wish I could have found and done more. But when you have kids running round that are wanting to explore, sometime you have to miss the taking picture to gain memories instead.

We carried on down the dirt road marching in a line, as the boys pretended to be soldiers and exploring their surroundings. We spent ages looking at the sheep and horses.

IMG_8112

IMG_8115
E was super excited saying “Just like Shaun the Sheep The Movie”. It’s funny how excited she gets about the movie, as we haven’t actually seen the film. I guess it going to have to go on the “must see list”.

After some fun and giggles we carried on down the path until we reached the level train crossing.
It’s one of my favourite places to walk with the kids because I get to talk to them about all sorts of things. Telling them about my adventures at the same spot as a child and explaining why you only cross when the light on green. Why you should always close the gates and why you should never play on the tracks.

Every time I take the kids to the crossing. We always stop and wait to see a train pass by.

IMG_8114
Sometimes we would be stood there for quite a while just waiting and talking. But that doesn’t matter because as soon as the crossing light turns red and starts making a beeping sound to warn the a train is imminent. You can see the excitement that spreads across the kids faces as they giddily clamber up the gate and the furiously waving at the approaching train.
It’s like a modern day image from The Railway Children.

And this trip was no exception and the smiles lite up their little faces when the train eventually came along and sounded it’s horn as and the driver and some of the passengers waved back.

After wards we turned back and walked back towards the park. So the kids could enjoy some more time playing in the park.

It was a great afternoon that was filled with lots of fun, exploring and excitement. It was amazing adventure that has left me with some fond memories to keep me going, until we head out on our next expedition.

How did you spend you half term?

Nikki x

magic moments

What’s the story

 photo 93142f35-6d39-479f-b3de-d94dbca68162_zps58499252.jpg

11 thoughts on “February Half Term

  1. You did a lot! My son wouldve enjoyed that Shaun The Sheep activity as he is a bit obsessed with him at the moment. Also the train crossing! Goodness my son watches them in youtube and I cant understand the joy of seeing a train pass a crossing but he loves it! Maybe we should go with you next half term =) #letkidsbekids

  2. We spent our half-term break doing play-dates, so nothing exciting like this one! Love the photos, especially of the snow-drops and the kids having fun! 😉 #countrykids.

  3. Funny you talk about the railway children, that’s exactly the image that popped into my head when I saw the photo of the children waving. Looks like a wonderful walk with friends and plenty to interest the kids. Thanks for joining me for Country Kids.

Leave a Reply

