The 5 chores I wish I didn’t have to do!

We all have those chores or odd jobs around the house that we completely hate! The jobs that make us groan out loud at the very thought of. 

I am no different and I have a list as long as my arm of job I can put up with but I also have a list of jobs I would avoid like the plague and I am more then happy to past off to my hubby or I will leave them until they really need to be done or even better I just won’t do them at all!
(I know that makes me sound really bad but not all of these job at that important)


So here my list

  • The Washing Up

I completely hate the washing up with a passion but with 7 of us living in 1 house. It not exactly something that can be left. Luckily for me though it was a job my hubby happily agreed too and I very nearly had it write in to our wedding vow.
“I promise to love, honour and always wash up” has a catching ring to it wouldn’t you say?

  • Pairing socks

In this house it’s a fend for yourself kind of approach to pairing socks. I just can’t stand sitting there pairing and matching socks because you are never fully finished because there is always those few left over singles that you can never find the match to. It infuriate me, so instead of putting myself through the undo stress of marrying socks. I just put them all in a basket and you fend for yourself and if you find a pair, BONUS!

  • Ironing

Some people say they love ironing but I just do not see the appeal. Specially when I know my kids will just end up rolling around creasing them again or shoving them in a draw very untidily. I save my time and sanity and only iron if I have too or I’ll ask the hubby to do it.

  • Scrubbing the toilet

I think this is a universal one for most people. I know it needs doing and I will do it if and when I have too, but it a very unpleasant experience. Specially when I have 2 boys at home that seriously need to work on their target practise.

  • Sorting through the clutter

This is one of those tedious jobs that I hate. Mainly because of the constant onslaught of paper work I get given for the kids school or hospital appointments. Then there is the fact that they never stop growing out of clothes or  mixing up and breaking their toys. Which means that at least once a month I have to go on a declutter mission that ends up taking hours or sometimes days out of my life. Just for the clutter to re-accumulate within a matter of days.

So there you go my lists of job that I despise having to do but will do if I have too. (Well apart from the socks, I’m just not going there)

Do you have any jobs that you hate?

Is there any job you won’t do?

And who does them for you, if you don’t?

Nikki x

 

Mami 2 Five
36 thoughts on “The 5 chores I wish I didn’t have to do!

  1. I hate the thought of cleaning more than I hate doing it! Once I get into it I actually don’t mind it and I love to see my house all nice and clean. I did not enjoy the giant pile of ironing at the weekend though after a couple of weeks of illness!

  2. I have issues with socks the dryer I swear eats them. There is never two. MM is always in tights because of this and Buba bare foot like his momma. lol I know bad tactics. I have never ironed and would never iron. I buy everything that can go in the dryer or doesn’t need ironed. I can’t imagine washing time on that… I know it’s an english thing but so many people ironing everything I have never got it. lol Maybe I just wear wrinkly clothes hahaha Good list. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

  3. The Mother says – This is almost as I’ve written this post myself. I HATE matching up socks – what an absolute waste of time!!! Luckily, I have a very awesome, retired Mummy who I pay to do my ironing but no matter how much pleading, big-eye looks, etc….. she won’t scrub my toilet (we have ‘aim’ issues here too!!) Fab post 🙂 #sharewithme

  4. For me it’s dusting. I don’t mind the actual process of getting a duster and polish out and wiping things but it is SO frustrating when it feels like you are just pushing the dust around the surface. Plus it’s always dusty again pretty much straight away. It annoys me so much.

    I don’t even own an iron and ironing board! I just wear everything straight off the airer, unless it’s a shirt or something. Then I leave it in the ironing basket and buy a new one. Kidding. I do leave it in the basket though.

  5. I literally do NOT iron!! Can’t be dealing with it plus most creases drop out when its hung up, and will only iron like shirts/certain other things. These are all totally rubbish things but if you didn’t do them they probably wouldn’t get done! Thankyou so much for linking up and hope to see you again tomorrow! Sorry I’m late this week has been crazy. Thanks again! #MummyMonday xx

  6. I have a dishwasher and four big kids who do the emptying and filling (because I hate to). Pairs of socks are so overrated I tend to go for (vaguely) complimenting than matching and also have a huge laundry basket full of randoms. Never iron, unless it’s weddings, christenings or funerals. Sadly I do have to clean the toilet (also have stinky boys here too) and my approach to clutter sounds very similar to yours! We have both obviously realized there’s more important things in life lol 😀 Thanks for linking up with #SundayStars xxx

Leave a Reply

