10 reasons I love being a Mum! 

Being a mum is one of the most time-consuming, never-ending and amazing jobs in the world. It is an honour, a privilege and a gift to be given these tiny people to look after. Sometime we are even the ones lucky enough to create these adorable wonders and sometime they not made up of our DNA but they have still the centre of our universe and unbelievable love we feel for our child is indescribable.

Even if some days they make us want to pull our hair out or we bribe them with biscuits and their favourite TV because we want 5 minutes peace, so we can go to the loo without a trail of children following and watching as we pee or even better we get to drink a hot cup of coffee before we accidentally close our eyes and wake up to realise we have drifted off and the kids decided to redecorate the living room walls or better our faces. (Or does this just happen to me?)

Now before this becomes a list of all the downfall to being a mum, I will get to my point. That even though our kids can annoy us to the point of distraction, they are still the most precious treasures we will ever be given and because of this here is my list of the reasons I love being a mum.

  1. Watching their faces light up with joy!Nothing is better than seeing my children smile. For me knowing that they are happy and seeing it on their face lets me know that even though I’m not prefect I must be doing something right.
  2. When I watch them exploring, learning and trying new thing.While doing this my children tend to make more mess then I thought possible for people so small. But as long as they are having fun I don’t really care about the mess (sometimes).
  3. Their unexpected kisses.This happens to me regularly. I will be sat playing or stood making tea and out of no where a little person will run up and plant one on me. It is the best feeling in the world to know you are that loved that they had to stop what ever they were doing just to show you they care.
  4. Their little hands.I don’t know about you but I love my children’s hands. I love holding them, tickling them and kissing them. I could stare in wonder at those tiny digits all day. I love how small they are and how perfectly they fit around my finger or in my hand.
  5. Reading them a bedtime stories.I love reading to my kids and I use to read to T and P every night without fail. But as I had more children and the kids got older, the reading started to dwindle (Mainly due to my exhaustion). It’s was something that would plague me with guilt because I knew my girls would be missing out. So at start of this year I made a vow that I would try my best to read a story or sing a lullaby to all my kids before bed on a night. (It has been broken a few times but I make up for it the next night)
  6. Watching them sleep.They look so peaceful, sweet and cute. I just get lost in their faces and before I know it, a moment has turned into and hour and I realise their asleep.
  7. I love watching them play and getting involved!Who’s says just because you have kids you can’t spend your time pulling funny face and being silly together. That just because you’re a mum now you can’t act like a loon in the street or pretend the ground shoots laser if you stand on the cracks. One of my favourite things about motherhood is watching my kids play and use their imaginations. I love taking part and playing along as they describe the adventure they are taking me on. Who says just because you get older you have to grow up!
  8. Cuddles!I don’t even think I need to give a reason for why I love this one. It’s enough said.
  9. When they want to learn from you.When your try to cook or bake or clean and you have this little person who is interested and wants to watch and help you do it. When you know in that omens that you are teaching the a life skill by baking buns or filling up the washing machine or cleaning up for themselves. It fills you with hope that they will know how to look after themselves when they inevitably grow up and leave home.
  10. The pride you feel when you realise that this amazing family is yours! And you wouldn’t trade them for the world!

 

Why do you love being a mum? 

Oh and by the way

Happy Mother’s Day 

Nikki x

29 thoughts on “10 reasons I love being a Mum! 

  1. This was such a touching post, I am not a mother myself yet :), but this made me miss my mom so much, especially on such a special day. You have such a beautiful family, such cuties !

  2. Love all your reasons! And Happy Mother’s Day too … I also especially love the unconditional love they give 24/7. I also love how my daughter thinks I’m the most beautiful woman in the world 😉 #sharewithme.

  3. Ahhh these are all so true. I don’t get many unexpected kisses just yet though 😦 Elsa isn’t particularly affectionate so she’s more likely to kick me in the temple than give me a cuddle but I love that too.

Leave a Reply

