My first Blogiversary

This is a post that has been playing on my mind for the last few weeks. You see as the weeks turned quickly to days. I was wondering what I would actually do to mark this occasion.

Would I do a review, a giveaway, write a deep meaningful post or just mumble along through a random post and see what I can up with. (If you can’t guess I have chosen the latter)

Then a really happy coincidence happened. I was given a spa day voucher by the Hubby at Christmas and I had booked the day for me and one of my best friends to enjoy. We had thrown around some dates and I had actually booked the 17th March for our day together, not realising it was our spa day. (A very happy surprise)


I must say we had a great day and the rest and relaxation of my spa day was excatly what I needed. We even went out for a kid free lunch at Nando’s. Which was extremely strange but also really nice. It was a proper lady’s that lunch sort of day and was prefect to celebrate my first Blogiversary.

I will say that that most of today has been spent with me thinking back about when and why I first started my blog.

It was the begin of Down syndrome awareness week (just like it is now) and it was also my first one as a DS mum and at the time and I still wasn’t in the best of places when it came to fully accepting my daughter’s DS. It was a hard time, so I wanted to learn more about my daughters condition and other parents experiences. This meant I was reading loads of different blogs, that DS parent from all around the world.

It was then that I decided that I would join the world of bloggers and I would put my little Baby’s story out there. I am really glad I did because it help me get all my feelings out and it help me come to terms with everything my Β family and I were going through. It was great and by the time I had written a handful a post my feelings had already started changing. A year on I can happily say the DS isn’t an issue anymore. Compared to when I started this blog and DS was always in my mind, now I hardly ever think about it. I can go days, weeks and sometimes even months without DS being in my thoughts. When I look at my Baby I don’t just think DS anymore, I think of how much of a wriggle bum she is, how much she loves cuddles, how she cries if someone around her is sad or how she is as stubborn and determined as I am.

It is because of this determination that I know she will be fine and that baby won’t let anything stop her.

It is also why my blog has changed numerous times of this year as I find where I belong and what I want to share. I think I have finally found my little bit of the blogosphere. I have made it my own and it maybe be a bit random, a bit disorganised and full on my children. But that’s me!

I find it hard to believe that I have been blogging a year! It has been a great and what a year I might add. And that Something that started out as a random thought and as just a hobby, is now this massive part of my life. I don’t think I would know what to do without it.

So here is to a great year everyone and a massive thanks to all my followers on here, twitter and my blog Facebook page.

I hope you all enjoy reading and I can write another post similar to this on my 2nd Blogiversary.

Happy Blogiversary to me!

Nikki x

Super Busy Mum

share with me

27 thoughts on “My first Blogiversary

  1. Congrats on completing your first year – and what a lovely treat to celebrate. I have to admit I’ve never thought of celebrating my blogiversaries before – maybe I should (although I’m now 11 months away from my 9th …)

  2. Congrats on your blog’s first anniversary. Such a massive milestone. Your spa day looks amazing. So jealous. Nothing beats a pampering, especially when you’ve got a girlfriend in tow. I think it’s so important to have some ‘me’ time when you’ve got young kids. Tx

  3. Happy Blogiversary! That first year is a huge milestone, for you in more ways than one. Congratulations on all fronts. It is a wise woman who works through her thoughts and emotions while finding a tribe to help her through! You so deserved that luncheon and spa day. Kudos!

  4. Pingback: #Project365 – Week 12 | Keeping Strong and Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

