How to have a fun Easter Egg Hunt

Easter is a holiday that as a child I quickly over looked. But now I’m a mum and my children are growing up, Easter is slowly starting to become one of my favourite of the holidays. 

I love the fact that it marks the start of spring, I love the fact the damp an miserable wintery showers are replaced with brighter, sunnier days and of course I love the fact that we can indulge in loads of chocolate.

Every Easter we have a certain lot of traditions that we follow. We always do some sort of baking, we wear silly Easter mask and of course we have a Easter Egg hunt, this year was no different. That is why I thought I would share my tips on how to have a fun Easter egg hunt.

  • Firstly buy loads of different size eggs  That way you can make if fun for older and younger children. I tell my children they have to hunt down 2 big eggs each and the little ones are for whoever find them first.

  • Stick clues or arrows directing the kids to the treats   It makes the hunt more fun and gives the children clear instructions, which means the hunt doesn’t turn in to excited, chocolate fuel anarchy. (Have you ever seen a suger infused toddler with a chocolate crazier glint in their eye, it terrifying!)


  • Give everyone a fair chance    I do this but letting they younger ones have a few minutes hunting eggs down before the older kids. This is because the toddlers are normally so excited/amazed by the shiny, bright foil cover eggs that they are either too caught up in their first found egg they forget the rest or they want to unwrap it straight away and eat it that they don’t see the other eggs. Also it prevents the older kids running round and hogging all the eggs leaving it the younger one at a unfair advantage. You could also change this by having you help the younger ones find the eggs while the older ones have fun.

  • Have fun!       Remind the children it’s all meant to be fun and that there isn’t a loser or a winner it the taking part and havingf fun that counts.

Do you have a egg hunt or any Easter traditions in your family?

Happy Easter everyone! 🐰🍫🐣

Nikki x 

”2015EasterLoveLinkyParty”

magic moments

12 thoughts on “How to have a fun Easter Egg Hunt

  1. This is exactly what I did on Sunday with all our guests, it was so much fun for them all. I even did a follow up one for my own children. Easter only comes once a year and it’s lovely to make some happy family memories that hopefully they will all take on to the next generation. Thank you for sharing your Egg hunt tips on Country Kids.

  2. Aww looks like you all had a wonderful time. We did an easter egg hunt but it did get a little crazy at one pint. Thats what happens with Boys πŸ™‚

  3. We used to have amazing easter egg hunts at home when we were kids but then we all grew up….but now I have a son and my parents have a grandchild the egg hunts have resumed! Some great tips there πŸ™‚

  4. awww so wish we had done an egg hunt this year! we did last year but not sure why we didn’t do it this one .. love the smiles
    Thanks for linking up with #MagicMoments (sorry i am late)

Leave a Reply

