BakerDays Letterbox Mother’s Day Cake

As Mother’s Day approaches my excitement has been growing, because it’s a day that I get a lie in (I know your thinking the same as me “what’s a lie in?”) and get to chill out. 

I love Mother’s Day because it is a day that my kids tend to be a little extra attentive. They try their best to be nice and repeatedly tell me I’m the best mum ever. (What mum doesn’t like hearing that)

This excitement was given a boast when I was asked if I would review a Mother’s Day letterbox cake from BakerDays, because it meant the start of my Mother’s Day celebrations and I got to eat cake! 

I completely loved going through there amazing site and looking at all the yummy looking personalised cakes that you can design yourself and make order in a range of sizes.

  • Cupcake (1 portion)
  • Letterbox 5″ (4 portions)
  • Small 7″ (10-12 portions)
  • Medium 9″ (18-25 portions)
  • Large 12″ (40-55 portions)

(Plus with every large cake you get a Free helium balloon)

The day the cake actually arrived, I was so giddy. I couldn’t wait to open the box and devour some cake. This urge was enhanced even more by the delicious that smell wafted in my face as I lifted the lid of the box and I was greeted by the most adorable looking cake tin.



I have to say I was completely blown away by the cake tin. It just added that little extra touch of quality and made the whole thing feel really special. 

I had a quick sneaky look inside and took some snaps before the kids managed to see it (Once they saw cake, the constant nattering asking for a piece would start). Luckily I managed to get some great shots before I put the tin away and save the cake for a sweet treat after our tea.  



When I was first looked at the site I was a little unsure of the cake sizes as I didn’t think the letterbox cake would give us 4 pieces like it’s said but I was pleasantly surprised when I had the cake in front of me because it was bigger then I thought. I knew I would be able to cut it up and the whole family would be able to have a piece. 

I was absolutely smitten with the design of the cake and how clear the writing on it was. I going to personalise it more and add my childrens names when I ordered but I wasn’t sure they would all fit on the cake and even though it was bigger then expected I still don’t think it would of looked right with all 4 kids names on. So I was happy to have to original design that it still as felt really meaningful.



I really liked the fact that the icing went all the way to the edge of the cake board and wasn’t only on the cake. It made the design look great.

When it came to cutting into the cake the favour was a complete surprise for me as I didn’t read the site properly and completely missed the fact that they have 6 different types of cakes available,

  • Vanilla
  • Chocolate
  • Fruit
  • Half & Half (vanilla, chocolate, vanilla)
  • Gluten Free
  • Dairy Free

Which is great if there are certain cake flavours you don’t like or if your allergic or intolerant to certain ingredients. I personally can’t stand fruit cake and I was praying that wasn’t want I was going to find. So as I made my first cut I was holding my breathe.

It was a major relief when I found out it was a mouth watering vanilla sponge.



I was a little gutted that it was just 1 layer instead of being split in to 2 and filled with icing or cream, but I guess that would affect how long it would stay fresh for and how well it would travel. 

And when your sending a cake out in the post you want it to turn up looking great, not battered, smeared or worse, going off.

That being the case it’s a good job these cakes are designed to stay fresh for up to 14 days and are sent out in that amazing tin to keep them well protected and in one piece.

The kids completely loved the cake and thought it was delicious

and Baby dove right in, without a second though.

I waited until the brood were in bed before I relaxed and tried mine (with a nice cup of coffee of course!) I was really pleased with how yummy it was, even if I did find the icing a little much but then I never really been a lover of icing.

Even though I didn’t love the icing I am already planning my next cake and leaving hints at the Hubby for my birthday (which is in next few months) because I am that pleased with the cake and would love a personalised birthday cake from him and kids.

The Letterbox cakes retail at £14.99 and can be delivered 7 days a week (If you order a week in advance you get Free delivery!) and all designs can fit all cake sizes.

BakerDays can be found on multiple social media channels too such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and many more. 

So if you thinking of buying you mum something special for Mother’s Day and your not sure what to get. Try a lovely cake that’s a little bit different, really great quality and is personalised to give it that extra amazing touch. I promise she will love it.

Nikki x 

Disclaimer…

I was not paid for this review, however I was given the product to keep in exchange for my honest opinion of the item and it’s features.

17 thoughts on “BakerDays Letterbox Mother’s Day Cake

  1. I keep seeing these Baker Days cakes everywhere! They do look really good and I love al the little extra bits that they come with #PoCoLo

  2. I find the concept interesting and I agree the tins are pretty. I bake cakes myself but I like to go BIG and generally hand them over in a plain white box. I’m wondering now if a pretty box would cause more excitement, or take some away from the cake? I’m glad you all enjoyed your cake, and it did look very pretty. #PoCoLo

  3. We have recently had one of these, same design (it’s it pretty!) and it was so yummy, looks like you children enjoyed it as much as Boo did =)
    Great Review!

  4. I do love the idea of getting cake through the post and this one is really eye-catching. It sounds delicious too! I think I’m going to have to wait a few more years for Potato to be old enough to pick up on hints about Mothers’ Day treats though 🙂
    #TriedTested

Leave a comment